Tuesday, July 19, 2011

5 Love Languages

Who knew there were five love languages? And that if you could figure out the love language of your spouse, it would make for a happy spouse, and that if they could figure out your love language, it would make for a happy YOU!

This guy did...

Gary Chapman.

Author of "The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts."

Here's the gist of what he has to say.
There are five different ways in which we, as humans, wish to be loved on, in other words,

The 5 Love Languages:

Words of Affirmation
Quality Time
Receiving Gifts
Acts of Service
Physical Touch.

Words of Affirmation is obviously praise, such as, "You look nice in that," "I'm proud of you for your hard work," "I appreciate you," "Great job." You know, an atta' boy or a you go, girl on a fairly regular basis. Quality Time is just that. Quality time. Going for a walk together, meeting each other for lunch, talking with each other, uninterrupted, about your days, spending family time together doing fun activities. Receiving Gifts can be a visual symbol of love for some people. Gifts don't have to be expensive; they can be handmade, something found in nature, a note, something small, but meaningful enough to let the person know you are thinking of them. Acts of Service can range from filling up the car with gas, to folding all the clothes, to doing the one chore you know the other hates to do. Physical Touch is just what it sounds like, although the author notes that sex is not a part of this. Sex in marriage is a no-brainer. The author means physical touch throughout the day; a hug, holding of hands, a pat on the back, running your fingers through their hair, a neck rub, a kiss hello, goodbye and goodnight.

At the end of the book, there is a personal profile for both you and your spouse to take, which tell you what your love languages are. Hubs and I both took it. We are...

Drumroll please...

I am a Quality Timer & Hubs is a Physical Toucher.

Both of our runners-up was...
Words of Affirmation.

We have been working on spending some quality time together. It has definitely been a lot easier since he's been home from Afghanistan. (Go figure, right?) I have to work on the physical touch. I didn't grow up in a touchy-feely-hugs-all-around-kinda family, so my bad. :) And we are both working on the words of affirmation, as well. For both of us, it was just one point away from being tied with our number one choice, so we figured it was pretty important, too.

So, atta boy & you go, girl! Woot!

Now, go buy the book, and learn your spouse's love language. I recommend it!

No comments:

Post a Comment